Cranky pants

It’s been a cranky-pants kind of… day? week? month?  I don’t know.  As much as I love this age in that the kids really “play” a lot more and are learning neat new things, it’s also a cranky age.  New-ish walkers mean lots of losing balance and smacking heads.  Adventuresome climbers fall off of things.  Uncertain needs and spare communication skills lead to early-stage tantruming.  Nap transition plus weekend illness plus cold autumn rain = lots of screaming in my house.

Add to that today’s finally-rescheduled annual checkup… let me just say THANK GOD M decided to be a wonderful person and take a sick day so I didn’t have to bring the kids with me.  The office called yesterday (and you know I was sure they were calling to cancel when I saw that caller ID) to remind me of the appointment and ask me to come 15 minutes before the appointment.  Fine, I showed up at 11:30 for my 11:45 appointment.  So that I could… tell them nothing at all has changed with regard to insurance, address, etc etc etc.  Great.  Sat and read a magazine, and no one called my name for 35 minutes.  Finally went and got the initial blood pressure check and all of that with the nurse, then back to the waiting room for another 10 minutes.  All so I could have my 5-minute annual exam.  It took longer to check out and schedule next year’s exam (an exercise in futility) than it did to have the actual checkup.  I finally left at nearly 12:45.  Thank god I didn’t have screaming lunch-time kids with me.

And just to continue the rant (in case any of you are still reading), I’m trying to deal with the whole foot surgery issue.  I have it scheduled, but childcare during the weeks following is looking iffy. I can piece a few things together, but it’s minimal and I’m not sure it will be enough.  Enter the latest idea: fly to Chicago with the kids and have it done there, where the whole famn-damily can pitch in.  Good for childcare, not fun to be away from M for several weeks.  Plus, insurance is being a pain in my ass (or foot, rather).

But hey, the sun is briefly peeking out and the kids took at least a brief nap.  We’ll hit the new mall playspace so they can run around, we’ll get a tasty snack.  It’s not all bad.

7 Comments

Filed under Illness and Injury, OB Appointments, Toddlers

7 responses to “Cranky pants

  1. i am sooo right there with you…

    hey, if you schedule it in chicago let me know and maybe i can pop up there and visit you!

  2. Mall play spaces have amazing curative properties…for kids and for mom. A big fancy coffee is in order.

  3. Let me know what I can do to help. Surely I could manage infant twins plus toddler twins for at least one day so you can rest. 🙂 Or better yet, I’ll leave mine with my mom and come spend time with yours to see what the future holds.

  4. Let me know what you need from me. I’ll help when I can!!

  5. I am sorry your day-week-month has been so rough, but you make our house hold screaming chaos seem so much more normal! We are ahead of you by a few months, but at the same time are right there with you!

  6. Rebecca

    Ah, the screamies. They suck, huh? I did find they get better (last few days being an exception) as communication improves.

    Obviously, we’re here for whatever help you need. Remember how you give all those new moms that advice about taking the help that’s offered? Yep, I’m suggesting you take your own advice.

  7. Lisa

    I would seriously think about getting it done in Chicago. As I have stated before, the recovery for this surgery can be pretty serious, and iffy childcare won’t cut it. If you do it in Boston and your recovery is minimal, that’s great. If it’s dismal, that’s a disaster. If you do it in Chicago and the recovery is minimal, you can head home early, no worse for the ware, but if it’s dismal, then you have all the help you will need and you will not need to worry about Daniel and Rebecca.

Leave a Reply

