Finished for Friday: Rag quilts

My insanely crafty friend over at Lit and Laundry is hosting a new feature: Finished for Friday!  Time for lots of show-and-tell for what we’ve made this week.  Wohoo! Head on over and check out the other links, and submit your own!

The blocks have been sewn into rows and the seams pressed open.

The blocks have been sewn into rows and the seams pressed open.

Early last week, I talked about turning the old receiving blankets into quilts.  I thank everyone for their suggestions, and started by making two small lovey-sized blankets with no batting.  The two layers of flannel, alone, were plenty cozy.  They’re each made from 6″ squares, five across and five down (well, 10 and 10 if you figure it’s two layers).

I can see why people get spring-loaded scissors for cutting all of the seams. It really hurts your hand with a regular pair of scissors!

I can see why people get spring-loaded scissors for cutting all of the seams. It really hurts your hand with a regular pair of scissors!

I have to say, making my first rag quilts was pretty fun!  It seems to take every rule of quilting and turn it upside down.  Make your seams invisible? Nah, make them the big feature.  Precise quarter-inch seam allowance?  Instead, let’s do something like five-eighths!  Wrong sides together, sew and make it all visible!  It makes you feel like such a rebel from the usual precision and constraints of “normal” quilting.  OK, maybe “rebel” is a bit strong.  It’s just fabric, after all.  But still, it was fun.

Both quilts, assembled and snipped and ready for the washing machine.

Both quilts, assembled and snipped and ready for the washing machine.

Close-up after one run through the washer and dryer. They're starting to fray nicely!

Close-up after one run through the washer and dryer. They're starting to fray nicely!

Beware, when washing these babies. The first time, they will completely clog the washer’s lint trap.  Be ready to replace it, or your next regular load of laundry will have water spraying all over the basement. Trust me.

Have they become an instant hit with the kids? Nah.  Maybe they will, maybe they won’t.  Maybe they’ll be good for playing with dolls at some point. Who knows.  They’re cute, and I’m happy.  Oh, and I have so much cut fabric leftover that I clearly will have to make a bigger quilt for myself… Maybe a more traditional one, but a cozy flannel nonetheless.

21 Comments

Filed under Crafts

21 responses to “Finished for Friday: Rag quilts

  1. stb

    My mother-in-law made my daughter one of these for her first birthday – and she LOVES it (and is now almost 2). We get so many compliments on it.

    You did a great job on yours!

  2. What a great idea to use receiving blankets! I’ve made lots of quilts but the rag quilts are always the most popular for curling up on the couch.

    For bigger quilts, I’d suggest doing that first wash at a laundromat, and let them deal with the fuzz. Otherwise, set a timer and clean the lint trap every 10 minutes or so.

    Those spring-loaded scissors are great. Worth getting if you’re going to make more rag quilts.

    Thanks for joining in! This is a great project!

  3. They are GORGEOUS, Liz! LOVE them!

    [Off topic: Do you have any pieces you’ve composed about parenting in Boston, or something similar? Email me! 😉 )

  4. Rebecca

    How sweet. We had those same Pooh blankets—looking at yours made me remember (without shuddering) those itty-bitty baby days.

  5. Holy Cow! I love them! Totally jealous that I don’t know how to quilt/sew/knit etc.

  6. OMG! I *love* them!! Built in Taggies! heh And that sounds like my kind of quilting 😉 Perhaps when Logan is done with his blankets (we still use them for warm weather covers) I’ll venture into something like this…

  7. wow! this is a great idea! I’m curious to know how you learned how to do this? I have a rudimentary knowledge of quilting, but all by hand. I have a fancy sewing machine that would probably do this… Any books or sites you could recomend? thanks 🙂

  8. very cute. i am impressed with your finishing. my first is still sitting there, waiting for the binding to be sewn. good tip on the dryer trap…i will watch out for that. i will have to gather a few things and join the friday posts. next week. 🙂

  9. Vicki

    Those are gorgeous. Very nice work.

  10. Liz, those are SO cute. I envy your quilting/sewing/crafting skills, really I do. Mine extend to putting photos in photo albums. 🙂 I think you should start selling some of these blankets. I would totally ship you some of Jack’s old receiving blankets and have you make one of those quilts for me for a pretty penny! Just in case you have some spare time to start a business. 😉

  11. Wow, I love these! I have instructions to make a rag quilt and I just never got around to it but you have me thinking I should do it. And, Beverly is right — you should consider selling them.

  12. Helen

    Spring loaded scissors are amazing- once I discovered them, I never wanted to go back to regular scissors for anything

  13. I really love the way these turned out! They are darling!

  14. Marci

    I’m with Bev – I would totally pay you to make one of those for my future children 🙂

  15. cat

    These are just beautiful – such a great idea.

  16. Your blankets are great. Did you know that if you use a wave blade to cut the squares instead of the straight rotary cutter blade, you don’t have to sit and clip into the seam allowances? These are sold where you buy other rotary cutter supplies. You just switch the blades out when you are cutting your flannel. The quilts will automatically fray on their own. Leaves more time for sewing!!!!!

  17. Dana

    So cute!! I love them. When are you teaching a class on how to do this?
    Dana

  18. Just beautiful! I wish I were so crafty. I have a cross-stitched piece I started when I was pregnant, finished just as my girls turned two, and have yet to frame and display. *sigh*

  19. Jennifer

    Your quilts look awesome…I’m just starting this hobby and can’t find a book on rag quilting 101..do you have a copy of your pattern or instructions….Please help….I have all the material ready to go…Jenn

  20. This is such a great idea! Your rag quilts turned out beautiful.

Leave a Reply

