BlogHer Boston

I spent the day today at BlogHer Boston, and I must say, it was great.

For one thing, it was a nice little mommy break. I saw the kids a bit in the morning, but M got up with them and had them all day. I thought it would be his first day having them both totally solo, but in his own words, he “wussed out” and called his sister to come hang out with them.* But hey, no problem. The point is, I’m not there. Is there a small part of me that misses them and is sad not to know what they’re up to today and finds it hard to let go of control? Yes, sure. But still, it’s nice. And I’ll enjoy tomorrow more.

Anyways, the conference has by and large been a lot of fun and very informative.  I’ve been at this blogging thing for about 2 1/2 years and have almost 450 posts.  I’m pretty committed to it, I’m enjoying it, and it’s not just a passing fad.  I’m ready to take a step up to be a little more cohesive, purposeful… almost professional, even though I don’t anticipate getting paid to blog anytime soon.  That’s why I wanted to come, and it’s been a lot of fun to meet other bloggers and talk about it all day long.

For one thing, I hung out at the “Geek Lab,” to ask some technical questions. Sarah was super helpful.  I finally decided to buy my own domain name (more info to come when I get it up and running), and with that will hopefully get a nice design worked out (suggestions for blog designers appreciated).

The lunch session was all about building traffic in smart ways, which was helpful not because it was such novel information, but because it made me think about doing these things in a more purposeful way.  Smart use of categories and tags, effective linking, etc.

Session one in the afternoon was about polishing and personalizing your blog, which was enjoyable and all about not being afraid to customize your template and add things to make the blog not the same old boring template.  Good, but still being on the un-customizable WordPress.com, I couldn’t do much with it at the moment.

Session two was all about establishing and growing your blogging community, which had some overlap with building traffic, but also gave good strategies for purposefully finding new blogs to read and expanding your circle.  It also went into dealing with information overload, which is a problem for me.  I spend too much time on my computer, too much time with my iPhone.  It has become too much of an addiction, too much of a thoughtless habit.  I need to work on compartmentalizing my time, setting up rules and boundaries for when I’m online.  I think it will be healthier on all fronts, but I also think it will make me do these things more efficiently instead of mindlessly doing them all day long.  Aside from the practical assistance I got in the Geek Lab, I think this was the most useful session of the day for me.  Thanks, Beth!

In addition to the sessions, the chit-chatting and networking was fun.  Because my little circle of the blogosphere is all mommy bloggers, it’s sometimes nice to talk to people who do something completely different. But also find more birds of my feather!  At the cocktail hour, it was particularly fun to chat with Christy and Megin.  And, in the end, I got home and both kids were in bed.  Hooray!

It was a good time, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get a little bit of focus or add some purpose to your bloggy mojo.  I can’t promise huge strides on this site, but I’ll do my best.

— — —

* In a lovely turn, the whole “wuss out” thing was a bit of a ruse. Yes, my sister-in-law and her boyfriend came to help with the kids.  But it was actually so that M and his friend could work on putting up the fence I’ve wanted for the last two years as my (upcoming) anniversary present.  Thank you, honey!  It may not be traditionally romantic, but it’s wonderful and thoughtful. M’s friend is coming back tomorrow so they can finish.  Lucky, lucky me!

12 Comments

Filed under Blogging

12 responses to “BlogHer Boston

  1. Thank you so much for the Blogger’s Digest version! The BlogHer D.C. version is this Monday, but being 2-ish hours away (assuming traffic on 95 isn’t ungodly, and that’s an assumption dangerous indeed) while the kids are in school….just think it an unwise thing to attempt.

    SOOOO need to compartmentalize my days…set limits and times and stick to them more stringently. A great reminder.

    Glad you had a fun day, and glad you’re getting that fence! Happy Almost Anniversary! (October is a great month 😉 )

  2. It was great meeting you today!

  3. I forgot about the conference. I’ll have to go with you next time if you want to go. Fence sounds good – just in case those big dogs in the next yard over get out – they are scary big!

  4. Is it your 5-year anniversary this year? If so, M’s right on the money! This past July was our 5th and we ended up getting a new house…made of wood, of course! 🙂

    Wow! The BlogHer conference sounded awesome!

  5. Great recap. I live near San Francisco but didn’t go to the BlogHer conference. But now I have a better idea of what it offers. Sounds really informative.

  6. Thanks for the recap. I was all signed up and ready to hit BlogHer Atlanta…until they canceled. Bummer. Sounds like some useful sessions…anything that can help encourage me to focus would be a good thing!

    Glad you had a nice day on your own! Much deserved.

  7. Meg

    I am so glad that the kids were asleep when you got home 😉

    I really enjoyed talking with you and Christy, too.

    -Megin
    GNMParents
    Maine-ly Megin

  8. Mine were asleep, too, thank goodness. And, you know… my stomach wasn’t so happy with me either. Then again, it might have been too many friend appetizers, as opposed to just one bad “apple.”

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I wanted to supply you with my personal blog, too, since your kids probably aren’t spending much time online: More than Mommy (and I hope that I can link that way…)

    Christy

  9. I would love to go to one of those conferences sometime. I’m sure it would be such a great time.

    I’m so glad that you had fun!! And I love your “Baby got Barack” t-shirts in your header. HILARIOUS!!

  10. Sounds like you had a great time.
    Glad you got to enjoy it.

  11. Awww, that is so sweet that M was secretly working on the fence while you were gone! 🙂

    I’d love to go to a conference like that. I’ve been blogging regularly for more than four years now, and I’ve also toyed with the idea of becoming more ‘professional.’ I know i have a lot of readers, but I also would have a LOT to do, and there’s a lot of inertia keeping me at Xanga (like the other bloggers I’ve “met” there). Something to think about, for sure!

  12. Dani

    Sounds like you attended informative sessions. I would be interest in hearing how your schedule develops–or how you find the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

