Change of plans

My mom hasn’t seen the kids since our big trip to Chicago in late July. The bummer about living 1,000 miles away from my family, and the fact that my mom tends to have a very busy social calendar, is that time just seems to fly by and the next thing you know, she hasn’t seen them in nearly three months.  It’s sad, because I want my kids to know their grandparents.  But between my mom and stepdad always having a million things going on, my dad always traveling for work, and M’s parents down in Florida who basically look after M’s grandmother, who is not really up for traveling… my kids just don’t see their grandparents very often.  Maybe someday that will be resolved somewhat and there will be more free time for traveling or we’ll live near at least one set of them.  But for now, it’s a bummer.

So, my mom has been trying her damndest to squeeze in a trip to Boston.  She had an event she was organizing that was in Georgia a couple of weekends ago, and at the end of this month, they’re going to India for three weeks (with friends who were born there – how cool will that be?!).  And then it will be Thanksgiving, and we’ll be there for Christmas.  So early-October seemed the way to go.  Her flight landed in Boston at 10:30 this morning.

Except, sadly, she was not on it.  She had a lingering sore throat for the last week or two, which decided to morph into a hideous cold/flu/virus yesterday that was so bad this morning she couldn’t get out of bed.  My stepdad called to tell me at about 7:30am, she couldn’t even get on the phone.  She called me an hour later, sounding like death, but desperately wanting to apologize.  I felt bad, she felt bad.  But alas, nothing to be done when you’re completely knocked on your ass.

So, no mom visit this weekend. 😦  No organizational projects, no playing with the playhouse she got for the kids. I have no idea if she’s going to be able to try and reschedule for another time this month, or if October will turn into November and then December, and I’ll just see her then.  Regardless of whether there are any complicated aspects to our relationship, she’s my mom.  I miss her, and I’m really sad my kids don’t know her.  Hopefully we’ll work something out before Christmas, but I won’t go holding my breath.

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “Change of plans

  1. that sucks! so sorry that didn’t work out for everybody’s sake. this time just flies by way too fast, and unfortunately, it will never come back. my dad hasn’t seen the boys in 10 months and he has really missed out on a special time.

    on a happier note, i really dig your new banner!

  2. Oh I am so sorry! And like you, regardless of the mother/daughter water under the bridge, there is NO ONE who dotes on the babies more than G’Ma.

    Can only imagine how heartbroken she is. 😦 (AND sick. Ugh.)

    Hoping for a workable visit soon. In the meantime, hug those sweeties for us!

  3. I’m sorry, Liz. 😦 That must be sad for your mom and for you. For some reason, I feel like big changes of plan (like a botched visit) post-kids is even a huger deal than it might have been pre-kids. Maybe it’s because, once you have kids, especially toddlers, you tend to plan your entire schedule around a visitor or a big outing, and you personally get psyched up to have adult company and help. Then, when it falls through, it’s just such a huge disappointment. Pre-kids, you might feel like you could just substitute another activity, bummed as you might be to not see your mom. But post-kids, well, what else are you going to do with your day? Sigh. Anyway, all i’m trying to say is, I feel your pain. Hopefully there will be a G’ma visit soon.

Leave a Reply

