Photo catch-up

I know a lot of people say that you stop taking quite so many pictures once the kids turn a year old, but I have yet to notice a dramatic dropoff.  I’m sure it’s a gradual thing, and I’m also sure that once it’s winter and dark and cold and we’re inside, lacking natural light… that’ll make things taper straight off.  But so far it’s still nice to be outside and we’ve had plenty of sunny days, so I’ve been snapping away.  Nothing exciting, no huge events or activities.  Just hanging out in the yard.

One thing that is noticeably absent is the monthly chair pictures.  It was a nice ritual, have them in the same place on the 3rd of every month.  I’d take the pictures in the morning, and by mid-afternoon I’d have the month’s highlights posted on a photo sharing site and sent to family and friends all over the country.  But the month-to-month changes in appearance are less dramatic now.  I was getting a little tired sending the updates every month.  And, quite frankly, the chair pictures were becoming hazardous. What with all of the crawling and climbing and lack of fear of falling.  So, on September 3, I did not send pictures.  Some people asked when they were coming, and I was non-committal.  My current plan is to send them out at 14, 16, and 18 months, then 21 and 24.  Or, maybe, just when the mood strikes me.  I have not given up on the mass updates or even the chair pictures altogether.  But doing so on the third day of every single month was getting to be a bit much.

Of course, if most of my family and friends had any idea this blog existed, they could find plenty of pictures here.  But, well, most of them don’t.  And that’s just fine by me.

But for you, dear anonymous internet… here are some cute ones from the past week:

Why is he always drawn to the slate and cement?

Why is he always drawn to the slate and cement?

Strike a pose, girl, there's nothing to it.

Strike a pose, girl, there's nothing to it.

Both in the tunnel... will Daniel ever stop drooling?

Both in the tunnel... will Daniel ever stop drooling?

Rebecca now prefers walking as her primary mode of transportation.

Rebecca now prefers walking as her primary mode of transportation.

Daniel models the new Obama shirts Grandpa sent.

Daniel models the new Obama shirts Grandpa sent.

If they could cooperate, they could pull off some crazy tricks.  Too bad Rebecca has a tantrum and head-butts Daniel when she realizes he's trying to play with

If they could cooperate, they could pull off some crazy tricks. Too bad Rebecca has a tantrum and head-butts Daniel when she realizes he is trying to play with "her" toy (any toy, really).

5 Comments

Filed under Photos, Toddlers

5 responses to “Photo catch-up

  1. Good pics! I love the Barrack shirts! Hmmm don’t know about the slacking of pictures… mine are 18 months and I STILL take a ton! Maybe because I love photography almost as much… not quite, but close. 😉

  2. what great pictures of rebecca and daniel, they look adorable! i had to laugh at the last one and your comment as well, i think the same thing about my 3 all the time!

  3. I LOVE those shirts! LOL

    And that one of Rebecca “posing”…soooo cute!!

  4. cat

    Love the pictures – the last one is so precious.

  5. Oh, oh, oh! So much cuteness! I love the Barack shirts, first of all. Jack’s gotta get himself some. Second, I really enjoyed the shot of Daniel showing off his cute bum. 🙂 And, if we go by Jack as the standard, no, Daniel will never stop drooling. 😉

Leave a Reply

