Mom and Me Meme

My real-life buddy Giovanna has tagged me for the “Mom and Me” Meme.  You know I love me some memes, so here ya go.

First, post a picture of you and your kid(s):

This one is an attempt at a self-portrait on Thursday.  My camera doesn’t get quite far enough away, but there you have it.  Daniel on the left, and a corner of Rebecca’s face on the right.

1. How many children do you have?
Two, boy/girl twins.
2. What are their ages?
13 months.

3. What time do you start your day?
Around 6:15-6:30, though sometimes I don’t have to get the kids until closer to 7:00.
4. What do you eat for breakfast?
Frozen waffles along with the kids, or my latest kick is a fruit & yogurt smoothie (which the kids also like to share with me).
5. Do they watch TV?
A little.  I sometimes flip on the Today Show in the morning, Cash Cab in the evening, or sports on the weekend.  But not much.
6. What are their favorite activities?
Rebecca – walking! Or, climbing up the slide on our swingset, or “reading” her books.  Daniel – playing with whatever he’s not supposed to, climbing the stairs, swinging, just being carried.
7. Do you get a break during the day for some you time?
Only if/when they’re sleeping.  A skipped nap is such a bummer.
8. How do you end your day?
Vegging out, watching TV, messing around on the computer, cooking, doing laundry.  So exciting!!
9. What is your best parenting advice or tip?
It’s so important for mom and dad (or mom and mom, or whatever combo…) to be on the same page about the big stuff, even and especially in the infant days.  Which is not to say you have to do everything exactly the same way, but you have to fundamentally believe in the same things. There’s so much exhaustion and uncertainty and second-guessing in the first few months, it’s key to back each other up.
Also, don’t beat yourself up.  There’s many, many different paths to happy, healthy kids, and very few people actually live up to all of the theories and ideas they had before kids. Do your best, love your kids. They’ll be fine.
Finally, I’m supposed to tag 5 people. Hrm…
And you, if you want to do it!  Just leave a comment and let me know…
6 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Toddlers, Your turn!

6 responses to “Mom and Me Meme

  1. Crap, my answer to #9 would be the same as yours. And it does not end in the newborn phase…. this is even more important in our house right now with two 2 year olds. Jon & I got into a fight about discipline this morning in front of the kids. He wanted to put Nate in timeout for crying. I thought Nate needed some extra TLC bc he’s getting his last two molars.

    I’m all over it on the weekend!

  2. fun meme. i am going to promise to do it but it will have to be posted next week…i am running like a crazy right now to get ready for my weekend out. woot.

    god, i love your kids. such cute little ones with personalities that fill the screen. so sweet.

  3. Beth

    Love your parenting tips. Thank you. 🙂

  4. I wholeheartedly agree with the last sentence to your answer to #7. 🙂 Sorry i missed this earlier; I’ve been catching up since my whirlwind weekend in DC. I’ll be sure to do this tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

