Trip Recap, Part 3 – back to Grandpa’s house

See the first parts of the story here and here.

The first week of the trip under our belts, we were back at my dad’s house for a few days.  We pretty much crammed in visitors at every opportunity.  I have a lot of family and old friends in the area, and I thought a 12-day trip would make it easy to see them all at a leisurely pace, but not so much.

Wednesday was something of a recovery day, so we didn’t do too much.  We hit the grocery store so I could cook my parents dinner for once, and my dad and stepmom got a kick out of having the kids in the carts.  We made use of the ol’ swim diapers and took a dip in the pool in the afternoon (I wouldn’t want one in my own yard, but it sure was nice to have access to my dad’s!), and then got dressed and went to visit the optometrist.  No, not to get the kids’ eyes checked.  The optometrist around the corner from my dad’s house is a delightful woman who is a friend of the family, as well as a mentor to my stepsister, who is now halfway through optometry school.  Anyways, we had to go say hi.  And then, well, the ice cream shop was right there across the street… ah, why not!

Daniel rocks Grandpa's sunglasses. Bet the prescription felt weird to him...

Daniel rocks Grandpa's sunglasses. Bet the prescription felt weird to him...

Rebecca takes her ice cream very seriously.

Rebecca takes her ice cream very seriously.

Daniel is excited for the next bite!

Daniel is excited for the next bite!

Thursday was go-go-go, see as many people as possible.  We took our early-morning walk to the park and met up with my aunt and cousin (no extra people showed up this time).  After the morning nap, we drove with Gramps to the golf club to meet my stepmom for lunch.  And when we got home, my very good friend from college came over with her 3-year-old son and we all played in the pool.  My kids had a really short afternoon nap, so when the crabbies took over at about 4pm, I set out on a nice long walk – where I ran into another family friend!  Everyone wanted to lay eyes on the kiddos.

Rebecca found a shovel at the park.

Rebecca found a shovel at the park.

Rebecca thinks my stepmom is super funny at our fancy lunch.

Rebecca thinks my stepmom is super funny at our fancy lunch.

Daniel and his big three-year-old buddy.

Daniel and his big three-year-old buddy.

Friday was a great day: M arrived!  Hooray!  We missed him so much, and he was terribly lonely without the kids (and me, I suppose, but mostly the kids!).  His flight came in Friday morning, and we immediately packed everything back into the car, because it was time for one last adventure: the family reunion!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Infants, Travel

One response to “Trip Recap, Part 3 – back to Grandpa’s house

  1. Hey, Liz, what is that tray thingy with the catcher that’s sitting in front of Rebecca at your fancy lunch?? I always hesitate to put Jack’s food right on the table at restaurants (who knows how it’s been cleaned?!), and I’m also embarrassed by all the food that manages to ooze off the table onto the floor. That tray thingy looks like it could be my answer!

Leave a Reply

