Trip Recap, Part 2 – The North Woods

So, after spending a few days with my dad, we piled in the car Friday night and headed north with three adults, two kids, and a dog with a bladder infection.  My strategy was to get in the car right around the kids’ normal bedtime and hope they’d pretty much sleep the whole way. It didn’t work quite that way, but it wasn’t bad.  It took them quite a while to fall asleep, and they woke up every time we had to stop and let the poor dog out to pee or get gas.  Daniel was awake and not super pleased about it for the last hour, and they were both wide awake when we arrived around 1AM, so getting them back to bed was a little hairy.  But it all worked out in the end (and they slept in pack & plays in my mom & stepdad’s room, so not even entirely my problem!).

The four days we spent at the lake were really a lot of fun.  Tons of playing outside, lots of people to keep them entertained, and as many as four dogs for them to chase and give kisses to.  My sister-in-law worked hard to get them to say “dog,” and sometimes they came pretty close!  I did everything I could to keep them to their normal meal and sleep schedules, which I think helped a lot.  They were a little clingy, I think overwhelmed from all the people (we had 16 for dinner one night, 21 the next), and showed a bit of separation anxiety whenever they went down for a nap or to bed.

By Tuesday, it was time to head back to Chicago.  This time, we left at naptime instead of bedtime (1pm instead of 6:30).  That meant more awake time during the drive, and a few longer stops to help deal with crankiness and get some food, but I think it paid off when I dealt with the overtired-past-bedtime bit at 8:30pm instead of 1:45am.  Live and learn, I guess.  Though, next year (if we do it again) they’ll be old enough to be entertained by the DVD player…

Anyways, though it was an arguably insane idea, I’m glad we went up to the lake and spent time with my mom and other family members.  It’s the kind of thing I’d love to do every summer, and would do in a heartbeat if we lived in Chicago and the trip didn’t involve a flight in addition to the long drive.  We’ll see.  In the meantime, I’ll let the pictures tell pieces of the story:

Rebecca goofs around with my stepdad.

Rebecca goofs around with my stepdad.

Daniel lounges on the porch with my cousin.

Daniel lounges on the porch with my cousin.

Me and the kids with my mom.

Me and the kids with my mom.

Plenty of fun things to play with in the kitchen... maybe Daniel is saying he's ready to switch to milk?

Plenty of fun things to play with in the kitchen... maybe Daniel is saying he's ready to switch to milk?

Rebecca discusses the latest issue of O Magazine with her cousins.

Rebecca discusses the latest issue of O Magazine with her cousins.

Daniel likes my mom's dog better than he likes the lake.

Daniel likes my mom's dog better than he likes the lake.

Rebecca liked floating in the lake.

Rebecca liked floating in the lake.

Did I forget to mention I finished all three quilts?!  It's blurry, but here's my brother and his wife (and their dog) with their completed wedding quilt.

Did I forget to mention I finished all three quilts?! It's blurry, but here's my brother and his wife (and their dog) with their completed wedding quilt.

Exhausted kids sleep in the car on the way home from Wisconsin.

Exhausted kids sleep in the car on the way home from Wisconsin.

6 Comments

Filed under Travel

6 responses to “Trip Recap, Part 2 – The North Woods

  1. Okay, I am VERY impressed that you have already put up your trip recap posts, complete with photos! Especially after having your entire life turned upside down from the water debacle!
    🙂 Becky
    p.s. that last pic is heart-meltingly adorable.

  2. cat

    Cute – look at them holding hands in the last picture. And love the pic of you and your mom and the kiddos – beautiful light.

  3. You are an amazing photographer!

  4. That last picture is so sweet! My twins still hold hands.

    I love all of your pictures! What a great trip! Your twins are so adorable.

  5. awww, they are holding hands!!! Thats so adorable!!!

    Good for you for taking on the adventure of traveling with two kids. One is hard enough for me, but I really know I should do it more.

    I take inspiration from moms like you 🙂

  6. It looks and sounds like you had a blast–though highly chaotic! I think your kidos should win some sort of ‘super traveller’ award. At the very least, I hope that they have a mileage plan.

    Great news about the drain/sewer problem! What a mess!

    OK, back to the Opening Ceremonies…

Leave a Reply

