Trip Recap, Part 1 – Grandpa’s house

[Sucky day update: the city is attempting to repair the broken sewage pipe, or at least making a good show of tearing up the street in front of my driveway. M just informed me that the city just cracked the water line instead of the sewer line, and haven’t even dug in the right place yet. Nice. Kids are still sick and crabby.  Looks like we’re staying at the hotel again tonight, now that we have no running water.]

But now, on to the vacation recap before I forget it all!

Phase 1 of the Great Midwest Trip was a few days at my dad’s house outside of Chicago.  As M has limited vacation days, he couldn’t come with for the whole 12-day adventure. Luckily, my dad jumps at the chance to do anything that involves grandkids, so he flew out Tuesday morning (for a “meeting with the Boston office”), and accompanied us on the flight to O’Hare on Wednesday morning.  It was, as they say out here, wicked early.  But the kids did great, no major meltdowns on the plane.  Hooray!

Upon arrival, we took them to a favorite haunt for lunch, and spent much of the rest of the day just hanging out with my dad and stepmom (and their dog, whom the kids loved).

An aside on “stuff.”  My dad is excited about being a grandparent, and extremely generous.  So he takes great delight in completely outfitting his house as though the grandkids live there, and I’m not going to complain.  The nursery was already set up from our last visit, complete with my dad’s beloved video monitors (having my plain old audio ones freaks him out).  I really hated those things back when the kids were 4.5 months old.  Now, I found them fascinating.  To see them walking around their cribs, or when they wake up from a nap, sitting quietly and chewing on their blankets for a while.  I may actually consider getting them at some point.  Additionally, my dad kindly picked up a double stroller to keep at the house so we didn’t have to bring ours.  He got the Baby Trend Expedition.  I was intrigued, because in general structure it was very similar to my Bob Revolution Duallie, but significantly less expensive.  I was prepared to kick myself for spending an arm and a leg and traveling across half of Massachusetts to get mine.  But my pride in my decision is intact.  The Expedition was great to have, but it was no Bob.  Didn’t push or steer nearly as easily, and while it had a couple of handy features for carrying when folded, it just wasn’t as nice.

Anyways, back to the vaca.

Thursday was a trip downtown to my dad’s office.  It’s his company, and other family employees include my brother, my stepsister’s boyfriend, and three of my cousins.  It was like a pre-family reunion.  Oh, and I worked there for a few summers, too, so plenty of old coworkers stopped by the conference room when they heard there were babies around.

Kiddos with my cousin KC.

Kiddos with my cousin KC.

"Shh, Uncle J, I'm trying to watch Barack's speech on your laptop."

"Shh, Uncle J, I'm trying to watch Barack's speech on your laptop."

My brother and me with the kiddos in the conference room.

My brother and me with the kiddos in the conference room.

Later that day, we hit Grandpa’s pool to mitigate the effects of a crappy/missed afternoon nap.

And suddenly decided that assisted walking is actually really fun!

Friday was a busy day, fitting in as much socializing as possible before we hit the road for Wisconsin.  We met a college friend of mine for lunch, which was great to catch up.  Then, after the PM nap, we met my grandma at the park.  Of course, this being the town where my whole family lives, it didn’t stop there.  My aunt had heard we’d be there, so she pulled up a few minutes later.  Then my dad clearly couldn’t stand to be away from them, so he pulled up on the motorcycle.  Then my sister-in-law rode by on a bike she was returning to my mom’s house (which is a block away), and my brother drove up, since he was on his way to meet us before our big drive. It was a party, clearly.  Anyways, we were at the park for well over an hour, which the kids seemed to enjoy.  But we had to get back to dad’s house for dinner, and then pack it up in the van for the long drive to Wisconsin.  Three adults, two kids, and an old dog with a recurring bladder infection on a six-plus-hour drive in the middle of nowhere.  Wohoo!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Infants, Photos, Travel

One response to “Trip Recap, Part 1 – Grandpa’s house

  1. Since I don’t scrap book blogging is a good way to remember trip memories. Will the City pay for your hotel stay? I’d look into that if I were you – might speed them to get it fixed.

Leave a Reply

