Update on an awesome day

Wow. It’s been a real winner today.

So, Daniel woke up with a 102-degree fever. At 9AM, made calls to the pediatrician, and to the plumber for the laundry room sink that was backing up. The plumber could come between 11 and 1, and the pediatrician could see Daniel at 2:45 (so I had to cancel my own doctor’s appointment that had been made 2+ weeks ago, so I still don’t know what the hell is wrong with my left foot). Great start.

Plumber shows up, and quickly determines I have a main drain backup or some such thing, so the drain carrying everything out of my house was all messed up. He had to go back to the office to get a bigger machine. Super. He came back, and there was all manner of drilling noise coming from the basement for a solid two hours. I finally told him I had to leave for the pediatrician’s office. He said he still didn’t know what he was up against, but would keep going.

Off to the pedi’s office. Did I mention Daniel had skipped the PM nap? Yeah. And by the time we got there, Rebecca was catching up and had her own 101-degree fever. Ears clear, slightly red throat. Finger pricks to rule out a bacterial infection, which you know they just loved. Much screaming, decide it’s a virus, not much to do except Tylenol or Motrin to keep the fever in check. Delightful.

Took the long way home, since Daniel finally fell asleep in his car seat, and got a well-deserved Grande Iced Vanilla Latte and a slice of pumpkin loaf. Yes, I’m a stress eater. Pull up to my driveway, and there is now a second plumber’s truck. They’re shaking their heads at me. Crap. Turns out there’s a broken drainage pipe. Where is it broken? In the middle of the street. Right where the city was digging in front of my house a few weeks ago. Coincidence? I think not. But the plumber (husband of a fellow MOT) has already called the city, and they’re closed for the day. At 3:45 in the afternoon.

Well, the plumber is packing up, nothing more he can do until the excavator shows up at 8:00 tomorrow morning. Oh, and he called the cleaning crew, so they can work on my basement when things are fixed, so I don’t get mold. Oh, and as the entire house’s drain is busted, we can’t so much as flush the toilet.

And, so, I greet you now from the friendly Residence Inn. The kids are, once again, sleeping in Pack & Plays. Let’s hope everything gets fixed tomorrow. Let’s hope I can sleep at home tomorrow. Let’s hope the city picks up the tab. Sigh.

Night at the hotel 1

Night at the hotel 2

Night at the hotel 3

12 Comments

Filed under Home, Illness and Injury, Not good times

12 responses to “Update on an awesome day

  1. oh no, what a day! i hope the babies feel better soon; and i hope your house is livable again soon too!

  2. Eva

    Yikes, what a start to their second year! Hopefully things will get better fast.

  3. Oh, girl … Hugs to you. I’m shaking my head knowing that it has been so hard. But, man, look at those faces. A virus at our house never looked THAT freaking happy.

    We slept very well in our hotel room on vacation … hope you do, too.

    May the universe work its darndest to get things in order for your household tomorrow!

  4. Damn girl! Awesome is right.

    I hope that everyone sleeps tonight, that you wake up refreshed, fill up on the free breakfast, and then go home to clean drains and a reimbursement check from the city on your front doorstep.

    Love the chair photos! It’s amazing to know that I’ve been reading your blog since they were even born…and now they are a year old! Time flies…oh yes it does.

  5. Meant to say…did today qualify as “craptastic”?

    That has to be one of my favorite ‘goddessisms’. šŸ™‚

  6. suck. what a way to be welcomed home.

    the kids look quite jolly for nap missing and fever having.

    hope it gets done fast. sending fix-it vibes. šŸ™‚

  7. cat

    Ah, bummer of a day. Why does trouble always show up on the double?

  8. Oh for heavens sakes! What a miserable day! We had our own misery, but nothing compared to your day! And as a stress eater, I demolished a cinnamon crunch bagel, decaf coffee and half of the kids pumpkin muffin! That was AFTER my small bowl of morning cereal. Stress? Yep.

    I hope you kids slept okay in the hotel, and that it is somewhat baby proof.

    Hang in there…keep us posted! I know bad days absolutely suck, but at least they make great blog posts! Sometimes that is my saving grace…I will think “Oh, I am SO blogging about this!!!”

  9. I agree with Krissy – sometimes I “compose” blog posts in my head when I’m going through stressful times. I have to say that it sounds like you have a fantastic plumber – I may need a recommendation one of these days. And of course the street problem (city) becomes yours. I often find myself fighting other people’s battles.

    The kids looked happy enough in their chairs – they seem very resiliant!

  10. Oh my goodness! How awful! I’m glad you at least have a plumber who is a friend & you can trust him. How crazy that the city was closed at 3:45!
    Becky

  11. Yikes! Sending good vibes that today is a MUCH better day.

  12. Lisa

    Oh. My. God. I am so, so sorry for you guys! I hope the kiddos are OK, and the drain is fixed fast. Here’s to speedy city workers…they can work fast, right?

Leave a Reply

