Entering phase 3

…of our Great Midwestern Adventure. (or is it phase 4? I don’t know phases…)  Tomorrow we leave the greater Chicagoland area for the middle of nowhere, Illinois (near Starved Rock, for those in the know), for my dad’s family reunion.  It’s an annual gathering, probably 50 or so people, and it’s total insanity.  My family is big and crazy, and I can’t wait.

It has been quite a trip, and I’ll recap the whole thing next week when I’m home.  We arrived last Wednesday morning, had a few days at my dad’s house. Then drove six hours to my mom’s lake house in Northern Wisconsin, to spend time with her, my brother and sister-in-law, and my stepdad and his side of the family.  Then, six hours back to my dad’s house, more visiting family and friends, and tomorrow a two-hour drive to the reunion.  Sunday we drive back from the reunion and fly home to Boston on Sunday night, which is also the kids’ first birthday (the cake has been ordered).  Madness!

The kids have really done very well with all of these new faces, new places, and lots of activity.  I’ve stuck pretty strictly to their usual schedule, which I think has helped.  The hardest part has been being away from M for so long.  I’ve had plenty of hands, that’s not the issue.  I just miss him!  Sadly, he does not have endless amounts of time off, so he couldn’t come for such a long trip.  Happily, he arrives tomorrow morning just in time for the reunion and the birthday.  We can’t wait to see him!  He really misses the kids, especially (me, too, I suppose, but mostly the kids!).

Anyways, it has been a good trip, and I’m trying to keep little notes so I don’t forget it all.  Oh, and there’s the photos.  The photos are out of control.  I’ve taken close to 500 so far. I managed to upload a few for a HDYDI entry on Monday, but mostly they’re still living on my camera.  I hope everyone is enjoying the birthday countdown (yay, scheduled posts!), and I’ll be back next week with the whole trip round-up and reflections on making it through the first year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Good times, Infants, Travel

Leave a Reply

