Scatterbrain

I’m a little out of it this week.  I think I just have a few too many things on my to-do list, and am feeling pulled in a bunch of different directions.  Tuesday night was our twin club’s monthly COPE meeting, and we had a blast at the Zimmer Zoo.  Lots of people came (including the lovely Mommy, Esq), even if the reporter from NPR didn’t pan out (long story).  But I didn’t get home until after 10:30, and I feel like I’m still paying the price, a day and a half later.  Yesterday included the city digging a big ditch in front of my driveway (with no warning!) at 6:45am, cleaning people who never seem to come at the same time twice, weird naps, and a dentist appointment… for which I had to wake the kids up from one of their weird naps. Even yoga last night wasn’t as mind-clearing as I had hoped.

The biggest thing, though, is that I’m leaving for Chicago early next Wednesday, and the to-do list just seems to go on and on.  A list of what to pack, a list of what I want my dad to get from the grocery store before we arrive. Trying to think of what we’ll need for all aspects of our trip: the first few days at my dad’s house, then a 6-hour drive with my brother and sister-in-law up to my mom’s place in northern Wisconsin for a few days, a 6-hour drive back, another few days at my dad’s house, then a 2-hour drive to central Illinois for my dad’s annual family reunion.  Yeesh.  Oh, and while we’re at the reunion… my kids turn a year old!!

Plus, I finally commandeered my little-used dining room and have set up my sewing machine and ironing board, and am determined to finish these damn quilts.  My “shoot for the moon, land in the stars” goal is to have all three of them (both kids, plus my brother and SIL’s wedding quilt that is way overdue) actually sandwiched and quilted before I leave, in the hopes that I can just bring them and finish the binding while I’m in Chicago.  I know, laugh all you want, but it’s a noble (if far-fetched) goal.

Still, though, I’m making progress.  Daniel’s quilt is assembled and about half-quilted (that’s the backing that I had to piece together on the sewing machine, there), I have a contractor coming by at noon to talk to me about rebuilding our mudroom and back stairs (husband of a woman in my twin club), and I even have contacted an attorney so we can do our wills (see, Marci, I told you it was on my list!).

In the meantime, I haven’t managed to cook a real dinner since we got back from NYC, and I’m so low on diapers that it’s possible my kids will be in swim diapers when we finally go to the store later this morning to re-stock.

And, just for one final bit of weirdness to this totally scattered post… my kids woke up (and woke me up) at the ungodly hour of 5:35 this morning.  Maintaining my rule of not getting them out of bed before 6am, I did still get up and make their bottles so they’d be ready, since waking up that early does not bode well for happy, patient babies.  Would you believe that, at about two minutes to six, they went back to sleep.  And that I then went and all but woke them up at 7?!  I mean, I appreciate the hour and a half to myself and all, but could I not have spent that time sleeping?  Crazy.

9 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Secret society of twin moms

9 responses to “Scatterbrain

  1. Katie

    You’re a busy lady! Where in central Illinois is the family reunion? We live in Rantoul, which is 20 minutes north of Champaign.

  2. You are on a roll with those quilts! I need to finish up a bunch.

    Ironic that the twins went back to sleep after you got the bottles all ready for them.

  3. cheryllage

    That seems to be always the way! Prep for the next step, only to be thwarted…and when you could’ve slept! Hope things ease a bit for you…wishing you some moments of quiet (if you like that kind of thing! 😉 ) and peace today.

  4. The last few weeks I have been scatterbrained too. Overplanning, overscheduling, overresearching….yet, I can barely stand to do less…how I adore productivity! But sometimes it is too much for my brain and nerves!

    The trip over the birthday sounds fun and great and challenging and no-wonder-you-can’t-stop-making-lists worthy.

    Hang in there! And good for you for doing yoga!

  5. erika

    I have a sort of travel related question for you. We’re taking my two month old twins on their first trip to visit their grandmother in Boston. We’re taking their graco snugrides on the plane. do I need to get my mother to buy the bases to install in her car or can the seats themselves be strapped securely enough for a long drive?

    Let me know when you get a chance between beautiful quilting at erikab23@earthlink.net.

    Thank you!

  6. Hey, swim diapers totally count as diapers. 🙂 I remember when I was a little kid my mom would joke that my dad would not say we were “out” of toilet paper until every kleenex, paper towel, and coffee filter in the house had been used up.
    🙂 Becky
    http://www.stinkylemsky.typepad.com/

  7. I just wrote a blog on never-ending to do lists. I forgot to mention the work to do list – all I seem to be able to do is focus on what is needed on the home front. Weird – I guess my priorities are shifting!

  8. I bow to your to-do list. Please let me know if you accomplish it all, and I will submit you to the Guinness Book of World Records.

    Isn’t it amazing how much has to go into planning for a trip with babies?

  9. I hope it will make you feel better to know that we were down to only swimmy diapers this morning. And then we realized we only had ONE of those. Geesh. They had to go out and play in the yard commando tonight while I ran to the store!

Leave a Reply

