Impromptu

My sister-in-law has been offering for months now to watch the kids so that M and I can get away.  I wasn’t ready for a long time. I didn’t think the kids were ready.  Infants are hard, you kind of have to know them and what they need.  But you know what?  Now, I’m ready.  The kids are ready.  I need a break, M and I need a break together. We need a few hours to not worry about naps, not have babies screaming at us, not stress about what needs to get done around the house.  The kids are on a fairly predictable routine, are up for more activities and different foods and all of that.  While not in every way, in many ways they’re much easier than months ago.  Plus, my medical-student sister-in-law is on a relatively lower-stress rotation this month, so actually has the time and energy to take this on (thankfully, with her boyfriend there as well… I wouldn’t make her take both of them by herself!).

We debated where to go.  Drive up to New Hampshire, Vermont, or Maine? Out to the Berkshires?  Newport, Rhode Island? The trouble is that it’s peak summer travel season, so finding a place was pretty tricky. And this is not the kind of weekend where we’d be happy staying at a Holiday Inn. We wanted someplace nice, with a few low-key things to do nearby like restaurants or a spa (massage!).  No big plans, as we wouldn’t have tons of time to spend on activities.

And then, at about 9:00 last night, we decided.  We’re going to New York.  The great irony is that M and I generally dislike NYC (I really think you’re either a New York person or you aren’t, and we aren’t). But it’s a quick trip down on the train, we got tickets to see a show, and we’ll have lunch and dinner with friends.  We’ll go down Friday night, and be back early Sunday afternoon.  It’ll be entirely too expensive for such a short trip, but we’re just going to ignore that and go for it.

M and I are not usually spontaneous people.  Usually the most we do is “hey, want to go out for sushi tonight?”  And even that was, obviously, pre-kids.  That, combined with the fact that this is the first time we’re leaving the kids with someone else, and we kind of freaked out as we clicked “confirm” on our reservations last night.  But we’re going to do it, anyways.

Now, suddenly, I have a million things to do to prepare for our trip and for my sister-in-law.  She’s going to need detailed instructions on the kids’ schedule, what they eat, etc. (which she requested, but I would have done anyways…).  I need to make sure there’s plenty of the “right” food in the house.  I need to print out all of the emergency contact info, including directions from my house to the emergency room (hey, just in case!). Oh, and I need clothes for myself, as I don’t think shorts and a ratty t-shirt are really appropriate attire for a Broadway show or dinner in Manhattan.  Gah!  Gotta go!

12 Comments

Filed under Family, Good times, Infants, My beloved, Travel

12 responses to “Impromptu

  1. I’m watching my two nephews while my sister and brother-in-law take a weekend away and I think it’s great that you are putting together a detailed itinerary. My sister tends to forget that those of us without children don’t know the routine because she lives it every day!
    Have fun!
    🙂 Becky
    http://www.stinkylemsky.typepad.com/

  2. cheryllage

    Have a well-deserved and WONDERFUL trip!

  3. As someone who has left her children many, many times (that sounds a lot more mean that it is!), I must say I think you are doing the right thing. It sounds like the perfect amount of time – enough time to enjoy, relax and reconnect. But not so much time that you’ll want to cut the trip short and go running home to hug your little ones!
    Also, if your sister-in-law is coming to your house to stay with the children, they will probably do VERY well and keep to their regular routine. You may find yourself wanting to plan something else again very soon.
    Good luck and ENJOY!

  4. yay for you guys!!! it sounds like it is well deserved. enjoy yourselves and relax and have a ton of fun!

  5. A few years ago, we left our dog, Kappa, with some friends for a long weekend while we went on a Kayaking trip to Prince William Sound for our anniversary.

    I remember taking 1/2 of a day at work to prepare the 4-page Word document that detailed the instructions on the care for our beloved ‘first-born’.

    I’m happy to hear that you guys are getting away…and not just for dinner, but for something really cool!

    Live it up, Goddess! You deserve it!

  6. Ahh, that’s awesome! Do it. Do it. I know I plan to sneak away for at least a day when I’m at my moms. We need that couple time — to show our kids what a good marriage really is all about. : )

  7. The train is pretty relaxing (I’ve taken it for work) and dumps you downtown so that is nice. Maybe you can buy Rebecca her first doll at American Girl which is in midtown. I stay at The Palace for work (which is where Gossip Girl is filmed) and love midtown so let me know if you need any recommendations.

    So many good restaurants and Central Park is so beautiful. I have my fingers crossed it won’t be too hot for you but at least if it is that means the City will empty out.

  8. niiiiiice!!! I’m so jealous and can’t wait to hear all about it! (okay, maybe not *all* – but all the g-rated stuff…) *grin*

  9. Way to go!!! I hope it is a blast!

    I have never been to NYC, but Jay wants to take me there for our 5th anniversary in the fall…I would love to hear your review on what’s good and what’s not! Have fun!

  10. Yay! Have a fantastic trip and can’t wait to hear the details.

  11. Go go go! Have an amazing time at NYC!

  12. Good for you! (I’m embarrassed to say that after 3 years, my wife have yet to do this – but I think now I’m finally ready).

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

