What’s for dinner?

I was reading a fellow HDYDI mom’s blog, Lit and Laundry, and it’s her birthday today!  Hooray, happy birthday!  Her gift request from everyone in blog-land is a favorite recipe.  As I know she’s already seen my Chicken & Couscous Salad, I decided to find another good summer recipe.  And you know what?  It sounded so good that I might just have to make it myself, possibly tonight or tomorrow. And why not, I was looking for an excuse to have my kids try canteloupe. (I’m actually slightly allergic to melons. Nothing serious, but I wouldn’t exactly be finishing my kids’ leftover canteloupe.  But in the salsa? No problem.)  And I thought I’d pass it along to all of you… yet another tasty summer recipe, hooray for the grill!

Hoisin and Bourbon-Glazed Pork Tenderlioin with Three-Fruit Salsa (from Cooking Light)

Pork and Glaze

  • 1/3 c. hoisin sauce
  • 2 T. seasoned rice vinegar
  • 2 T. bourbon
  • 2 T. maple syrup
  • 1 ½ t. grated ginger
  • 1 ½ t. fresh lime juice
  • ½ t. chile paste with garlic
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 1-pound pork tenderloins
  • salt & pepper

Salsa

  • 1 c. finely chopped peeled canteloupe
  • 1 c. finely chopped peeled mango
  • 1 c. sliced small strawberries
  • ½ c. finely chopped seeded peeled cucumber
  • ½ c. finely chopped green bell pepper
  • ½ c. finely chopped onion (I like a red onion)
  • 1 ½ T. chopped fresh mint
  • 1 T. chopped fresh basil
  • 2 T. fresh lime juice
  • 2 T. finely chopped seeded jalapeño
  • 1 T. honey
  • ¼ t. salt

Instructions:

  1. Combine all salsa ingredients in a bowl, cover and refrigerate to let flavors meld a bit.
  2. Combine all sauce ingredients (hoisin through garlic) and set aside.
  3. Fire up the grill to medium-high.
  4. Butterfly pork (slice lengthwise, cutting nearly in half, but not quite through to the other side), and season both sides well with salt & pepper.
  5. Grill pork 5 minutes on one side.  Flip, then baste grilled side with prepared sauce (the sauce never touches raw meat, baste generously as there’s a lot of sauce to go around).  Repeat, flipping every few minutes and basting, until pork is cooked through (maybe 15-20 minutes total).  Discard remaining sauce (it shouldn’t have been contaminated with the raw meat, but the flavor is a little boozy to use as a serving sauce).
  6. Let stand on a platter ~5 minutes, then slice crosswise into half-inch slices.
  7. Serve with three-fruit salsa.  Roasted or mashed potatoes are a nice side dish.
2 Comments

Filed under Cooking

2 responses to “What’s for dinner?

  1. Oh, sounds yummy! I bet my husband would love this!
    🙂 Becky
    http://stinkylemsky.typepad.com/

  2. Thanks for the birthday wishes! This looks delicious and I can’t wait to try it!

    I’ve always had good luck with Cooking Light recipes.

Leave a Reply

