Melting

In case you’ve been living under a very cool rock and haven’t noticed, it’s been wicked hot here in Massachusetts.  Yes, wicked. I’ve integrated that word into my vocabulary. But even after eight years in Massachusetts, I have retained full use of the letter R.

Anyways, ri-god-damn-diculously hot.  90+ degrees and super humid for about four days in a row.  There’s nothing quite so pleasant as sweating before 7:00 in the morning.  Did I mention my house does not have air conditioning?  Yeah, not so much.  Two window units, one for our bedroom and one for the nursery, but that’s it.  Let’s just say that, when the kids are napping, I’ve been hiding in my bedroom.  And when they’re not napping, we’ve been escaping to places that have air conditioning.  Like Target, the grocery store, and our friend’s house (the only one I know who has central air around here). I’ve been crabby, the kids have been crabby, and it seems we’re all working on one of those nasty summer colds.  Coughing, congested, and generally unhappy.  Boy, have we been a pleasure!  All I can do is try to get us to all drink water, and share my popsicles.  They both love them, even though they’re pretty tart, and Daniel makes the funniest tongue-face whenever he sees it now.  He wants a lick, then makes a face, then wants more.  Too cute.

Finally, this morning, it’s a lot more reasonable.  Not cool, but it’s only supposed to be in the 80s today, and not nearly so humid.  So, what are we going to do with this good fortune?  Get on a plane Thursday morning and go to Florida.  I hear it’s lovely this time of year…. ugh.  Forecast is mid- to upper-80s, scattered thunderstorms, and dewpoints in the 70s.  Do you know what it means to have dewpoints in the 70s?  It means you’re going to be dripping the moment you walk out the door.  Good lord.  At least they all have a/c down there.  Now we’ll just have to convince my mother-in-law to actually turn it on, as she still sleeps in flannel pajamas down there.  Not kidding.

Anyways, should be an interesting new twist on our travel adventures, as they’re no longer in the infant carseats.  We got the GoGoKidz Travelmate, which came highly recommended by fellow HDYDI mom, LauraC, so we’ll see how it works in practice.  Speaking of practice, must take carseat out of car tonight to try it out… no sense trying to do it for the first time at 6:00 tomorrow morning.

We actually haven’t gone anywhere since our last trip to Florida, way back in April.  A whopping 8+ weeks without flying anywhere!  It was delightful while it lasted.  This Florida trip is one of three air travel adventures we have planned for this summer.  We’re also going to Chicago to visit my family in late July.  The kids and I will go for about 10 days, M will join us at the end.  Thankfully, my dad is going to come and help me on the first leg of that trip so I don’t have to do it alone.  The Chicago trip is going to be a whole big thing, which I’m sure I’ll write about later.

But what I’m also really excited about is that, at the end of August, we’re going on an actual vacation (or “trip,” if you prefer) with friends!  Sure, we’ll all have our kids with us, but there will be at minimum an even adult-to-child ratio, so that sounds good to me.  Anyways, we’re renting a house on the beach in Virginia.  Our friends have two boys, one of whom will be nearly three, and the other is a couple of months younger than my kids.  Two other couples may drive in and spend a few days with us as well, but mainly it’ll be four adults and four kids.  Hooray!

At any rate, I’m in denial about the fact that we’re leaving in the morning.  Better get packing.  Oh, and, um… figure out who’s going to watch the dog.  Shoot, that one kind of got away from me…

7 Comments

Filed under Infants, Travel, Uncomfortable

7 responses to “Melting

  1. Good luck with the travel! And can’t wait to hear how the GoGo Kidz work for you. We’re melting in the heat here too, although we have central air. It was 98 when I went to pick the kids up at day care yesterday!

  2. Sara N

    Hey Liz! While the rest of the world has been baking, we’ve been FREEZING in Seattle. I have my space heater on right now! (The grass is always greener, I guess.) Thankfully I’m heading East on Friday. I need some Vitamin D!

  3. Wow… no a/c. Seriously, that must be awful!

    As far as the trip goes… your little ones will have more frequent flier miles than most adults I know! How cool!
    🙂 Becky

  4. The GoGo Kidz Travelmate was fantastic when I used it for the first time a few weeks ago. They can hand check it if it doesn’t fit through the x-ray machine, but most agents we encountered knew how to help position it just right. And it was way easier than carting around a stroller.

    Good luck! Enjoy the trip.

  5. Ummm, do you count these carseats in your # of strollers owned? What is it w/us twin moms and strollers?
    My officially count was…..5 (duo-glider, peg perego twin aria, jeep side by side, 2 singles) + 1 wagon!
    We’re stroller-junkies!

  6. Hoping your trip is wonderful…and that the melting we’ve all been experiencing up and down the East Coast comes to a rapid end!

    And Girl, I am WAY hoping to hook up on your late August leg of Tour Goddess with Twins!

  7. Safe travels to you! Your kiddo’s are about the same age F and J were when we went to CA…amazing how they keep getting older and we aren’t aging at all!

Leave a Reply

