Yes, We Can.

I stayed up entirely too late last night, but I couldn’t miss this moment. It was just too exciting to see this man finally proclaim victory. My dad started telling everyone he knew that Obama should run, and could win, about four years ago. I can’t believe he was right. I’ve made no secret of my endorsement here, so I was obviously very excited to finally have the primaries done and a winner declared. The first primary was the day my kids turned five months old. The last was the day they turned ten months old. It’s been a wild couple of months on all fronts. As someone said on NPR yesterday, “It’s all over but for the shouting. And there may yet be some shouting.” Sigh.

I won’t go into my reasons for choosing Obama, and I won’t go into the myriad ways in which I’m unhappy with Clinton. I’m just going to take a day to be happy that, for the first time in my voting life, the candidate I’m supporting for President has actually won something.

OBAMA! OBAMA! OBAMA!

5 Comments

Filed under Politics

5 responses to “Yes, We Can.

  1. I hear ya sister. I can’t wait to take Alaina to the polls with me (again) with her Obama t-shirt.

  2. I was up way too late last night watching everything as well. I think my favorite snicker of the day was hearing Clinton vying for the veep job. Quite a different attitude than when she asked Obama if he wanted to be veep around the time of the NC primary!

    Loved the speech last night. I too want this country to be a place I am proud of.

  3. I was just like your dad. I lived in Chicago when he ran for the Senate. I vividly remember telling my husband after the DNC in ’04 he is going to be the president someday. I really believe it is the time for all the Clinton supporters to start rallying for Obama. We need to stand strong in November.

  4. I stayed up to watch it too! His speech was really good (and gracious and inspiring and and and…). Did you know they have “Obama baby” onesies on the shop section of his website? Very cute!

    It feels good to be excited over a candidiate again, and one that has a real shot!

  5. I, on the other hand, did not have to stay up late to hear his speech (thanks to the whole Time Zone thing)…but, I was late this morning as I had a “driveway moment” (or parking lot, rather) while listening to Morning Edition’s analysis.

Leave a Reply

