Does this make me a groupie?

Probably not, as there’s no skanky sex involved. And let’s all be thankful for that.

Those of you who know me are aware that I’m a fan of Barenaked Ladies. Easily my favorite band. Love their songs, love their attitude, love their live shows. I’ve probably been to 10 or so since my first concert, which was (gasp!) nearly a decade ago.

Needless to say, I was tickled to find out that they’re releasing a new album tomorrow, Snacktime. That’s right, a BNL kids’ album. Wohoo! They’ve already recorded a couple of kids’ songs, which I quite enjoy. And I’ve been trying to find good music for my kids. Yes, they’re little, in some ways it hardly matters. But I’m building my collection. While, on the one hand, I’ll play anything for them that I damn well please, I also want some music that is geared towards them. I love Peter and the Wolf, as performed by the Philadelphia Orchestra, with David Bowie doing the narration. Someone gave me a Justin Roberts album for Christmas, and that’s also a ton of fun. Songs that feel like “real” pop, reggae, country, whatever, but with fun kid-friendly lyrics.

Back to BNL. As I said, Snacktime comes out tomorrow. I’ve got it pre-ordered, so hopefully it will arrive on time. Complete with accompanying storybook! And then, I find out today, the band is doing a quick publicity jaunt, with some in-store performances and such. On Thursday, they’ll be in Massachusetts! They’re going to be at a Barnes & Noble about half an hour from here (down the street from the REI of the infamous BOB adventure), and even more perfect, the event is at 3:30. Prime outing time! We’re so going. My kids are 9 months old, and going to their first BNL show. πŸ™‚ Coolest mom ever, or lamest mom ever? I’m going to go with cool, since my kids are too young to tell me I’m lame.

My only question is this: how early do I try to go? Do I bank on there being a crowd, as BNL has a fairly substantial following in the area? Do I assume it won’t be so bad, as it’s the middle of the day in the ‘burbs? Hrm…

6 Comments

Filed under Mommy confessions, Music, Out and about

6 responses to “Does this make me a groupie?

  1. Oh, I pre-ordered this one as well. Can’t wait!
    I’m voting for “cool mom” on this one. It’s BNL – not the Wiggles for Pete’s sake… πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, I’m definitely voting for “cool mom”! I need to build Jack’s collection of music. We have some children’s songs in Mandarin, and then some classical music, which is great, but I’m sorely lacking in the “music in English” department.

    I would get there early. On the one hand, it’s in the ‘burbs in the middle of the day. On the other hand, it’s in the ‘burbs in the middle of the day. You know all there will be all these crazy moms there … πŸ˜‰

  3. Lisa

    Hands down, Coolest Mom! Go early, get a good place in line. Here’s some good “nap time before you leave the house”, dust! Have a GREAT time!

  4. I’ll give you a vote for “cool”. I love BNL! Have fun πŸ™‚

  5. Totally coolest mom (cause if it makes you lame, it makes me lamer!). I have been awaiting for this one, too. Gotta check and see if they are coming this way – I’ll be first in line with my little guy.

  6. You are uber-cool Mama! (You could substitute Cracker in for all the BNL mentions and I’m your groupie doppelganger…again, with no skanky sex.)

    We ADORE that Justin Roberts CD and will have to check out Snacktime. You’ll have to do a review!

Leave a Reply

